Other suspicious deaths

 Stephanie Callahan

http://wbtw.com/2015/02/23/loris-woman-found-dead-in-tree-stand-after-crashing-car-coroner-says/

By WBTW News Staff Published: February 23, 2015, 3:26 pm

LORIS, SC (WBTW) – A Loris woman was found dead inside a “tree stand” after crashing her car over the weekend.

According to Horry County Deputy Coroner Tony Hendrick, 24-year-old Stephanie Callahan crashed her vehicle off Morgan Road, just off SC 701 on February 19th just after midnight.

Hendrick said Callahan then walked into nearby woods and climbed into a deer stand.

A search party consisting of family and friends found Callahan Sunday.

Hendrick said it appears Callahan died from hypothermia, but final testing is being done

Melissa Joy Dietzel

In January 2012, the body of a young woman was found in an oak tree in Australia.

Melissa Joy Dietzel, 22, of Redlands, California, was a U.S. tourist who was working abroad as a live-in nanny and allegedly committed suicide. Her remains were found 30 feet up by a tree surgeon in the Randwick area of Sydney after reports of a foul smell coming from its branches.

Dietzel, who was identified through missing person’s records, dental details, and her clothing, had not been living in the tree before her death, despite reports to the contrary. (Source)

https://www.texasobserver.org/alfred-wright-jasper-east-texas-mystery/

08-21-2014, 17:54

Early on the morning of Saturday, August 16, I was leaving the Lambert Meadows Camp Site when I chanced upon this sight at the fire pit near the tent site picnic table.


http://whiteblaze.net/forum/vbg/showimage.php?i=60263


http://whiteblaze.net/forum/vbg/showimage.php?i=60264

I called out to see if anyone was around, but didn’t hear a peep.

There was no evidence of foul play, other than abandoned clothes, some with singe marks, in the fire pit.
The pit itself was dead cold, thus the clothes had been there at least a day. I’m also pretty sure nobody else camped near me the previous night.

If I had seen any evidence of foul play, I’d have called 911 as soon as I got a signal.

If I’d seen what was unambiguously a wallet or phone, I’d have picked that up, in order to contact its owner.

Because it was only a WEIRD scene, I looked up the URL for the Roanoke ATC

Contact

and left an e-mail for Shelter Supervisor Homer Witcher. He’s not contacted me back, so I presume he didn’t see an immediate need to see my photos.

I left everything exactly as I found it JUST IN CASE the area actually did need some careful analysis.

But I’m still curious what others think the situation was (still is?).

Did someone decide to give up hiking here, and symbolically threw away these clothes to show a complete break-away?   Or perhaps someone tried to dry out her/his wet clothes over a fire, only to find out that isn’t the best way to handle wet cotton or leather?

Any other ideas?

Leave a Reply

