Footprints

I noticed the one complete footprint when I was at China Creek Park last week.

IMG_4724

 

 

 

On reflection, I realize that all over the paths there I saw dents like the heel mark in this print, but the dents seemed to have no visible toe prints.

I didn’t know what the dents were.  The soil on the paths was sandy, soft, springy,  and full of a fine organic matter   like cut up lawn clippings which was probably decomposing grasses.  Now I think all the dents could have been footprints.  The toes didn’t register because the character of the soil didn’t hold impressions well.

I am going to go back and check out that dentage.   But if you see a lot of baseball-to-softball sized dents in a fine, soft soil, those might be all you will see of a footprint.

Leave a Reply

