Photography of the subject species and surprises

I grew up in the suburbs or small towns, but we did move a lot.  The suburbs meant new houses on the edge of town, near woods and fields.   In one such place, we lived for several years.

My siblings and I spent many happy hours with the neighborhood kids.  We went on expeditions, caught minnows and crawdads, dug tunnels, and hurled Osage oranges at each other from our tree forts.    Relatively little parental supervision was the norm in those days, thank goodness.

My mom had lots of field guides in the house, and we taught ourselves to identify plants and rocks, track animals, and understand nature.

Before I first began to take pictures of what I hoped would turn out to be sasquatch, I read beaucoup sighting reports and watched many Youtube videos.

I think my efforts to see a bigfoot in those many pictures and videos primed my skills of seeing or spotting them, as well as figuring out where they should be and where they likely would be hiding.

I have had jobs requiring a fierce focus on tiny details.  That and my background knowledge about nature helped me get pretty good at finding and photographing the bigfoots around here.

I can’t really see bigfoot in person–I can see a spot where one is, but I can’t see the actual squatch.  I can see shadows  or patterns that look wrong, colors out of place, a dark spot that is too dark in comparison with nearby shadows, a texture I think is fur, or other such signs.

I  also notice crows and flies seem to follow them around.   So if an area seems unusually buzzy with bugs, that might be because you have company.   Weird noises also might be noticed.

When I first started taking pictures, I didn’t use a tripod.  When I began to use one, that helped a lot.  Then I got a new camera and a telephoto lens and that was dead useful.  The telephoto lens gives you up close without the personal.  I feel much safer at a distance.

After I take some pictures, I go home and download them, then minutely inspect every inch of them, using adjustments of light and color to bring them out somewhat.

I think taking videos seems like a waste of time–no matter what, a lot of the video is out of focus unless you put it on a tripod.  The tripod doesn’t travel well, and I like to move.    I prefer to take multiple photos with the tripod in place, then later go back to see if I can spot changes from photo to photo.  It’s a lot easier, in my opinion, to see movement that way, as opposed to video.  In addition, with video you have a bazillion frames to check. Nobody has that kind of time.

I used to be perturbed by the fact that some always looked like dogs, but now I get that.  Some look a lot like you or me.  I think there is something out there that is or looks very human, whether sasquatch is or not.   Some smaller people, too.

I don’t really like to see that stuff, but it’s there.    It’s been suggested I am seeing what I want to see, but trust me, I am always surprised.  It’s never what I expect.  And I don’t like to see that stuff.

There is also something large and long, with spots on it.   Like a big caterpillar.  I have  no idea what that could be.

Sometimes I find things that are where nothing seems to be at all–against the sky I find figures sometimes, for example, where it looks like just blue sky.  Or what look like orbs or something in the sky in my daytime pictures.   Weird.  I don’t know that that means or if it’s really real.

I don’t see anything in my folder that is a real good example, but I will try to add some really soon.

 

Leave a Reply

